The Royal Dublin Society

Standing Committees

The role of a Standing Committee is to propose and advise on policies, programmes of activities and codes of practice within its sphere of interest in accordance with guidelines and budgets set from time to time by the Board of Management and the Council.

The Society has five Standing Committees:

Each Standing Committee consists of Members of Council appointed by the Council and the elected Members. The Chairman and Members of the Board of Management of the Council are ex-officio Members of all Standing Committees.

A Standing Committee may appoint working groups to perform tasks appropriate to the role of that Committee and co-opt to the working group people they feel will help to advance the performance of the tasks.

Information on the Committees' activities is published in the Annual Report.

Elections are held annually to fill vacancies on the Standing Committees.

Commitee of Agriculture and Rural Affairs
Fostering agricultural and rural development
The RDS Foundation Agriculture and Rural Affairs programme aims to foster agricultural and rural development by encouraging the professional development of young practitioners and supporting innovative projects.

Appointed by the Council:
Mr Denis Byrne
Mr Thomas P. Cannon (Chairman)
Mr John Dardis
Mr Jim Flanagan
Mrs Mary C. Redmond
Mr David Wilkinson

Elected Members:
Mrs Patricia Byrne
Dr Michael Carey
Mr Tim Duggan
Dr Mary Forrest
Mr Tom Kirley (Vice-Chairman)
Mr Dermot A. Power

Committee of Science and Technology
Acclaiming excellence in scientific endeavour
The RDS Foundation Science and Technology programme aims to support excellence in scientific endeavour and communication, to emphasise the importance of science and technology in economic and social development and to encourage young people to see science as provoking, challenging and fun.

Appointed by the Council:
Dr Catherine Adley
Professor Ray Bates
Mrs Ingrid Hook (Chairman)
Mr David Murnaghan
Ms Claire Murphy
Professor Chris Nicholas (Vice-Chairman)

Elected Members:
Dr Sheila Donegan
Mr Paul Lavin
Dr Ronan McNulty
Ms Dinah Molloy

Committee of Arts

Furthering professional development in the Arts
The RDS Foundation Arts programme aims to promote excellence in the Arts, to further the professional development of young musicians, artists and craftspeople and to support developmental projects in the Arts.

Appointed by the Council:
Mr Arthur Duff
Ms Lorraine Egan
Mr David Horkan (Chairman)
Miss Carmel Kelly
Mr Joseph Lynch
Ms Geraldine O'Connor

Elected Members:
Mr Peter Cavan
Mrs Enid Chaloner
Miss Joan Cowle
Mrs Ursula H. Gormley
Mr Emmet Kane

Equestrian Committee

Showcasing and promoting the Irish-bred horse
The RDS Foundation Equestrian programme aims to support the Irish Sport Horse breeder and producer by showcasing the best Irish bred horses, developing a market place for Irish bred horses, encouraging the highest standards in breeding for purpose, horse welfare, ethical training and effective horsemanship and promoting International jumping by the hosting of a CSIO to Top League standards.

Appointed by the Council:
Mrs Marian Condren
Mrs Jane Darragh (Chairman)
Kyra Donnelly
Mrs Kate Horgan
Mr Angus McDonnell
Mr Harold McGahern

Elected Members:
Mr Tommy Brennan
Mr John Crowley
Mr Jack Doyle (Vice-Chairman)
Mr Tiernan Gill
Mrs Gillian D. Kyle
Comdt John Ledingham

Committee of Industry and Commerce
Encouraging enterprise and supporting innovation
The RDS Foundation Industry and Commerce programme aims to promote excellence in Irish Industry by encouraging enterprise, supporting innovation and recognising outstanding achievement in business and commerce.

Appointed by the Council:
Ms Marianne Beasley Barnes
Dr John Corcoran (Chairman)
Mr David Markey
Mr Pierce Martin
Mr Pat Nolan
Mr Roderick R. Ryan

Elected Members:
Mr Richard Hayes
Mr Hilary Hough
Mr James McGing
Ms Cairín O'Connor
Mr Frank Ryan
Ms Geralyn Thompson (Vice-Chairman)

For further information, please contact:

Eileen Byrne
Dublin 4
Tel: +353 (0) 1 240 7221
Fax: +353 (0) 1 660 4014

Back to The Royal Dublin Society

Back to top

Did you know?