The Royal Dublin Society

Boyle Medal Banner

Boyle Medal Laureates

The first recipient of the Boyle Medal was George Johnstone Stoney who is best remembered in the history of science for introducing the term electron, which he did in a paper in the Scientific Transactions of the Royal Dublin Society (RDS) in 1891. Since then 39 of Ireland’s most eminent scientists have had the honour of being acclaimed a Boyle Medal Laureate.

1899   George Johnstone Stoney

1899   Thomas Preston

1911   John Joly

1912   Sir Howard Grubb

1916   Henry H. Dixon

1917   John A. McClelland

1921   George H. Pethybridge

1928   William R. G. Atkins

1928   Walter E. Adeney

1931   Sir John Purser Griffith

1933   Paul A. Murphy

1936   Horace H. Poole

1939   Joseph Reilly

1942   Joseph Doyle

1945   Thomas J. Nolan

1947   J. H. J. Poole

1950   Edmond J. Sheehy

1957   Robert McKay

1961   Phyllis E. M. Clinch

1967   Edward J. Conway

1969   Vincent C. Barry

1970   Thomas J. Walsh

1971   Patrick J. Nolan

1972   John L. Synge

1978   G. Francis Mitchell

1979   Cormac O'Ceallaigh

1981   R. C. Geary

1982   David A. Webb

1986   James Robert McConnell

1988   P. Kevin Carroll

1992   Brendan K. P. Scaife

1996   Patrick Cunningham

1999   Thomas Cotter

2001   Derek E. G. Briggs

2003   John McCanny

2005   Garret Adare FitzGerald

2009   Luke A. J. O’Neill

2011   Margaret Murnane

2014   Seamus J. Martin

Back to Boyle Medal Homepage

Back to top

Did you know?