• Contact us
  • Location & visitor info
  • Search
  • Visitor Info
  • Contact us
The Venue

RDS Forest and Woodland Awards

The RDS has been involved in forestry since the 1740s with many of Ireland’s oldest remaining forests originally planted on foot of RDS grants (or premiums as they were known). The Awards continue the RDS tradition of involvement in forestry by highlighting excellent Irish farmers and communicating what they are able to accomplish through the application of best practice and innovative management techniques.

There are four prize categories for the Awards:

1. Production Forestry

2. Multipurpose Forestry

3. Teagasc Farm Forestry Award

4. Community Woodlands


Production Forestry

The Production Forestry Category is divided into two sections; Under 15 Hectares and Over 15 Hectares, and is open to Farmers and landowners using sound silvicultural management on their farms. This award aims to recognise excellence in the management of production forestry.

While the focus is on the management of the area for wood production, judges will also take into account diversity of species, particularly the presence of native trees such as Ash, Birch, Oak, Willow, etc., to ensure greater efficiency and quality in the development of the sector.


Multipurpose Forestry

The Multipurpose Forestry category is open to individuals and organisations that are expanding or developing existing or new forest habitats through natural and environmentally sensitive methods. Judges will take into account the planning and management of the area, ecological awareness, social benefit, silviculture methods, control of grazing animals and invasive species, as well as sensitive felling and thinning.


Teagasc Farm Forestry Award

The RDS-Forest Service Irish Forestry Awards announced a new award category for 2017 sponsored by Teagasc, the agriculture and food development authority. The award aims to promote the sustainable use of land that incorporates both farming and forestry and the positive contribution that forestry can bring to traditional farming practices. It is also important that the number of trees being planted continues to increase in order to help minimise greenhouse gas emissions.


Community Woodlands

The Community Woodland Award is designed to encourage and reward projects involving community woodlands and forests which have been established and managed in a sustainable way that is beneficial to the landscape, the local people, ecological biodiversity and the economy. This Award is open to woodland owners or managers from the public and voluntary sectors.



  • With a prize fund of over €15,000, all woodland owners and managers are encouraged to enter the Awards as all woodlands, large or small, are of merit
  • The winner in each of the above categories will receive €2,000, an RDS Silver Medal and a perpetual trophy
  • The runner-up in each category will receive €1,000 and a special Certificate of Merit


See the winners of the 2018 Awards here.


For further information, please contact:

Paul Farrelly
RDS Agriculture Manager
Dublin 4
Tel: +353 (0) 1 240 7215
Fax: +353 (0) 1 660 4014
Email: agriculture@rds.ie

Share this page

Get RDS updates in your inbox.

Get all RDS updates in your inbox.

What updates would you like to subscribe to?